How to enable and disable location sharing in Android Phones

Most of the time knowing or unknowingly our gadget and devices location might be turned on, this in turn Reveals your location to somebody else and this could lead to a privacy violation, in most cases it could be useful considering the level of global insecurity .

For me I think that it is important only if you want to make sure your love one’s knows you’re on your way, or even your spouse could know t you’re stuck in traffic, may be you don’t want to put a call across to them while you’re driving, then I think that an active location tracker could be a real help.

Here, we’ll run through how to set location tracking in an Android phone. This is using a any phone running Android 10; your mileage may vary depending on the manufacturer. And one thing to be aware of: you are the only person who can give others permission to track your location, and you can cancel it at any time.

First step is to:

  • Open Google Maps
  • Tap your profile image in the upper right corner. Go to “Location sharing” and tap on “new share”

Now you can select who you will share your location with and how long you will share it. The pre-selection is “For one hour,” but you can tap on the plus / minus keys to adjust the timing. If you want the person to have unlimited access to your location, then select “Until you turn this off.”

You’ll then be presented with icons for your favorite and / or most used contacts. If the person you want to give access to isn’t there, swipe left and tap on the three dots labeled “More” to access all your contacts. Either way, when you’ve found the right person, tap on “Share.

 

The person you’re sharing with will now be listed at the bottom of the “Location sharing” screen. They will be notified that they now have access to your location.

To stop sharing your location, go to the “Location sharing” page, tap on the person’s name, and tap on the “Stop” button. On this same page, by the way, you can also request that the person you’re sharing your location with share their location with you in turn. Once you’ve stopped sharing your location, the person’s name will still be there, but there will be a notification that you are not sharing your location with them.

This is in case you might want to share again; you won’t have to go through the entire process again — just tap on their name and select the blue “Share location with <person’s name>” button. If you don’t think you’ll ever want to share with them again, and want to remove their name, tap on the three dots in the upper right corner of the list, and select “Remove from list.” so this is a simple way on how to share your location with lovely people.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *