Mikrotik Router Safe Mode Features and Config Fully Explained

Hello everyone in this tutorial am going to show you how to use mikrotik safe mode feature to manage your router OS.

In actual sense what this feature does, is that it prevents you from getting locked out and then you will be able to access your router anytime. SO for example let assume that you made a change and that change was made accidentally, let say for instant you disable an interface or any other thing as the case maybe, with safe mode you will be able to undo all these changes and then allow you to get back in your router.

Here in this small tutorial am going to show you how to use safe mode.

First, I trust your conversant with winbox. so, then go ahead and long into your mikrotik router using winbox application

safe mode

on logon if you look very close to the top left menu you see SAFE MODE I highlighted in yellow ink

NOTE: by simply pressing this button all the changes made in this section will be held and it be only written or made permanent if the safe mode option is unclicked.

To be precise let take for instance if you click safe mode and then for instance we go  to system and IDENTITY so that we want to change  the identity of the router while in safe mode once this is done, on the top menu of winbox you can see the name change to anything you choose in the identity and also indicating that you are in (safe mode), remember that this change is not permanent but temporary and will automatically clear once you reboot the router or until the safe mode button is unclicked, if your in safe mode and try to close the router a message will pop up saying “your in safe mode Quitting will unroll changes” this simply means that rebooting the router will undo the changes made in safe mode.

Another way to enter the safe mode on mikrotik is by doing SSH,

safe mode SSH

let say: we want to SSH first we click on Terminal on the mikrotik interface menu. To enter, and to exit safe mode in mikrotik router from the Terminal you must press CONTROL+X. Recall that any change made on this mode at this point is subject to revert once the router reboots.

Now am going to show how to save changes made in safe mode, from the terminal ssh and press control+X  type in the your desire command and press control+X  again now with this, if your disconnected by any means you will be able to login from safe mode  the next time and it will prevent you from getting locked out, this is because after exiting safe mode, all the changes are written to the router.

disabling and enabling interface using mikrotik Safe mode

We can further practice this by disabling all interface of the router while in safe, this practice will eventually disconnect your access to the internet but the next time you will login you will see that nothing has change, and everything will be working perfectly because the changes were made in safe mode.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *